1991 • 17th edition

From 30th August to 9th Sep­tem­ber 1991.
The Fes­ti­val was bereaved… It opened for the first time with­out Lucien Bar­rière and with­out Michel d’Ornano, both of whom passed away a few months before the Fes­ti­val. Esther Williams, Richard Drey­fuss, Mel Fer­rer, John Franken­heimer, Robert Mul­li­gan, John Sayles, and Richard Wid­mark were the pres­ti­gious recip­i­ents of trib­utes. John Tra­vol­ta and actress Kel­ly Pre­ston were hon­ey­moon­ing in Deauville: they were mar­ried in Paris just before arriv­ing at the Fes­ti­val. The Michel d’Ornano Prize was cre­at­ed on the ini­tia­tive of the Motion Pic­ture Asso­ci­a­tion mem­ber com­pa­nies. Ded­i­cat­ed to the mem­o­ry of this for­mer Min­is­ter and May­or of Deauville, the prize ini­tial­ly was to be award­ed to a first French screen­play, and sub­se­quent­ly, after 1998, a first French Film, with the goal of assist­ing in its recog­ni­tion, pro­mo­tion and export.

Affiche de la 17e édition du Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville

Previous edition 1990 • 16th edition
Next edition 1992 • 18th edition