1995 • 21st edition

From 1st to 10th Sep­tem­ber 1995.
Under new man­age­ment by Bruno Barde, the Fes­ti­val opened to Com­pe­ti­tion. The first Jury was chaired by direc­tor Andreï Kon­chalovsky, in com­pa­ny with vice-pres­i­dent actress Anouk Aimée. Pre­vi­ous­ly devot­ed to actors and direc­tors, the Deauville Fes­ti­val Trib­utes would hence­forth also hon­our pro­duc­ers, the key fig­ure of Irwin Win­kler being the first to receive trib­ute. Also on the Board­walk were Jack Nichol­son, Sean Penn, Kevin Cost­ner, and Bil­ly Crys­tal… The Fes­ti­val staged a ret­ro­spec­tive “New York in Cin­e­ma”, in the pres­ence of Robert de Niro. Clint East­wood was giv­en “Carte Blanche” to invite fes­ti­val­go­ers to dis­cov­er his 8 favourite films… all west­erns! A new Fes­ti­val Vil­lage pro­vid­ed space for the event’s part­ners and host­ed press con­fer­ences and pho­to calls. The first Fes­ti­val Grand Prize was award­ed to Tom DiCil­lo’s Liv­ing in Oblivion.

Affiche de la 21e édition du Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville

Le Jury

Andreï Kontchalovs­ki (Prési­dent), Anouk Aimée (Vice-Prési­dente), Yvan Attal, René Bon­nell, Élie
Chouraqui, Valérie Kaprisky, Michael Lons­dale, Mathil­da May, Claudie Ossard, Steven Zaillian


Yhe Grand Prize
Liv­ing in Obliv­ion — Tom DiCillo
The jury prize (ex-aequo)
Denise Calls Up — Hal Salwen
The Broth­ers McMullen — Edward Burns

Previous edition 1994 • 20th edition
Next edition 1996 • 22nd edition