2009 • 35th edition

From 4th to 13th Sep­tem­ber 2009.
The Fes­ti­val opened with an excep­tion­al con­cert by Julia Migenes. This year’s guest of hon­our was Har­ri­son Ford, emblem­at­ic of Amer­i­can cin­e­ma and loy­al friend of the Deauville Fes­ti­val. The Ren­dez-vous was with actor Andy Gar­cia, to whom the Fes­ti­val also paid trib­ute, along­side Robin Wright (Robin Wright Penn at the time), the ZAZ trio (David Zuck­erJim Abra­hamsJer­ry Zuck­er) and Robert Aldrich. In order to rein­force its iden­ti­ty, and fol­low­ing the pre­sen­ta­tion in com­pe­ti­tion of Lee Daniels’ Pre­cious – greet­ed with enthu­si­asm by the pub­lic and which won the 2009 Jury Prize – the Fes­ti­val adopt­ed a sub-title for the future, in Eng­lish: “A PRECIOUS moment for all cin­e­ma lovers”.

Affiche de la 35e édition du Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville

The Jury

Jean-Pierre Jeunet (Pres­i­dent), Hiam Abbass, Dany Boon, Jean-Loup Dabadie, Émi­lie Dequenne, Deb­o­rah François, San­drine Kiber­lain, Patrice Lecon­te, Géral­dine Pail­has, Bruno Podalydès

Revelation Jury

Maïwenn (Pres­i­dent), Romane Bohringer, Nico­las Far­gues, Aïs­sa Maï­ga, Louise Monot, Raphaël

Le Palmarès

Grand Prize : THE MESSENGER Oren Moverman
Jury’s Prize (ex-aequo) : PRECIOUS Lee Daniels & SIN NOMBRE Cary Joji Fukunaga
The most promis­ing new­com­er prize : HUMPDAY Lynn Shelton
Crit­ics award : THE MESSENGER Oren Moverman

Previous edition 2008 • 34th edition
Next edition 2010 • 36th edition