2011 • 37th edition

From 2nd to 11th Sep­tem­ber 2011.
In the fringes of its trib­utes, this year to Blake Edwards, Fran­cis Ford Cop­po­la, Dan­ny Glover, Shirley MacLaine, Todd Solondz, and Nao­mi Watts, the Fes­ti­val wished to give “Carte Blanche” to a celebri­ty from the world of arts and lit­er­a­ture. It was cre­ator Jean-Charles de Castel­ba­jac who accept­ed the invi­ta­tion to be its first rep­re­sen­ta­tive. The Fes­ti­val also inau­gu­rat­ed its “New Hol­ly­wood” in invit­ing an actress and/or actor, young jew­els in Amer­i­can cinema’s future crown, to Deauville: Jes­si­ca Chas­tain and Ryan Gosling were the first cho­sen. Final­ly, the Fes­ti­val cre­at­ed the “Film Cor­ner”, a new space ded­i­cat­ed to sales com­pa­ny and buy­ers. And with the Pro­duc­ers’ Guild of Amer­i­ca (PGA) it hence­forth would orga­nize a “Fran­co-Amer­i­can round table” for the pur­pose of enrich­ing the dia­logue between pro­fes­sion­als on either side of the Atlantic. The first-round table was ded­i­cat­ed to “Pro­duc­ing in 2011: the new rules of the game”. The Fes­ti­val offered a con­ver­sa­tion with Fran­cis Ford Cop­po­la, a scriptwrit­ing les­son with Roger Avary, and two Mas­ter­class­es with Tom Fontana and Shawn Ryan, with­in the con­text of Deauville Sea­son 2.

Affiche de la 37e édition du Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville

The Jury

Olivi­er Assayas (Pres­i­dent), Nathalie Baye, Claire Denis, Nico­las Godin, Chiara Mas­troian­ni, Angelin Preljo­caj, Jean Rolin, Bruno Todeschini

Revelation Jury

Samuel Benchetrit (Pres­i­dent), Leila Hata­mi, Sab­ri­na Ouazani, Élisa Sed­naoui, Ben­jamin Siksou


Grand Prize : TAKE SHELTER Jeff Nichols
Jury’s Prize : THE DYNAMITER Matthew Gordon
The most promis­ing new­com­er Prize : DETACHMENT Tony Kaye
Crit­ics Award : DETACHMENT Tony Kaye

Previous edition 2010 • 36th edition
Next edition 2012 • 38th edition