2014 • 40th edition

From 5th to 14th Sep­tem­ber 2014.
On the occa­sion of its 40th Anniver­sary and a pres­ti­gious 40th edi­tion ded­i­cat­ed to one of the cofounders of the event André Hal­i­mi, the Amer­i­can Film Fes­ti­val blew can­dles togeth­er with Trib­ute-nom­i­nees Jes­si­ca Chas­tain, Will Fer­rell, Bri­an Graz­er, Ray Liot­ta, John McTier­nan, as well as sur­prise guests Mick Jag­ger and Pierce Bros­nan. Deauville remem­bered the late Yul Bryn­ner, and Lau­ren Bacall and Robin Williams who recent­ly passed away. The Jury of the 40th edi­tion was chaired by direc­tor Cos­ta-Gavras and was com­posed of pre­vi­ous Pres­i­dents of the Jury in Deauville. Through stars’ anec­dotes and tes­ti­monies, the book Deauville, 40 Years of Amer­i­can cin­e­ma traces, with var­i­ous unpub­lished pho­tographs, the pic­ture sto­ry of 40 Fes­ti­val edi­tions. Damien Chazelle’s Whiplash, win­ner of the 2014 Grand Prize, start­ed its suc­cess­ful career at Deauville. The C.I.D Audi­to­ri­um is now equipped with Dol­by Atmos sound.

40e Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville

The Jury

Cos­ta-Gavras (Pres­i­dent), Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Claude Lelouch, Pierre Les­cure, Vin­cent Lin­don, Marie-Claude Pietra­gal­la, André Téchiné

Revelation Jury

Audrey Dana (Pres­i­dent), Anne Berest, Lola Bessis, Chris­tine and the Queens, Fred­die High­more, Clé­mence Poésy


Grand Prize : WHIPLASH Damien Chazelle
Jury’s Prize : THE GOOD LIE Philippe Falardeau
40TH Anniver­sary Award : THINGS PEOPLE DO Saar Klein
The most promis­ing new­com­er Prize : A GIRL WALKS HOME ALONE AT NIGHT Ana Lily Amirpour
Crit­ics Award : IT FOLLOWS David Robert Mitchell
Deauville Award : WHIPLASH Damien Chazelle

Previous edition 2013 • 39th edition
Next edition 2015 • 41st edition