2001 • 27th edition

From 31st August to 9th Sep­tem­ber 2001.
The Fes­ti­val pre­sent­ed an excep­tion­al (com­plete!) ret­ro­spec­tive of Stan­ley Kubrick’s work, on the occa­sion of the screen­ing of Steven Spiel­berg’s A.I. Arti­fi­cial Intel­li­gence, based on an orig­i­nal adap­ta­tion by Stan­ley Kubrick on which he had worked for near­ly twelve years. Trib­utes were paid to Julianne Moore, Burt Reynolds, Joel Sil­ver and posthu­mous­ly to James Dean; Oliv­er Stone was giv­en “Carte Blanche”. A sym­po­sium was orga­nized around the theme: “The influ­ence of new tech­nolo­gies on cre­ation in future cinema”.

Affiche de la 27e édition du Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville

The Jury

Jean-Jacques Annaud (Pres­i­dent), San­drine Bon­naire, Mar­i­on Cotil­lard, Gérard Dar­mon, Arielle Dom­basle, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Dar­ius Khond­ji, Benoît Poelvo­orde, Gabriel Yared


Grand Prize : HEDWIG AND THE ANGRY INCH John Cameron Mitchell
Jury’s Prize : GHOST WORLD Ter­ry Zwigoff
Crit­ics prize : HEDWIG AND THE ANGRY INCH John Cameron Mitchell

Previous edition 2000 • 26th edition
Next edition 2002 • 28th edition