2002 • 28th edition

From 30th August to 8th Sep­tem­ber 2002.
Har­ri­son Ford received his sec­ond trib­ute from the Fes­ti­val (a third will fol­low in 2009), in a pres­ti­gious line-up along­side Ellen Burstyn, Matt Dil­lon, Robert Evans, John Franken­heimer, and Jer­ry Wein­traub. Doug Liman’s The Bourne Iden­ti­ty, Christo­pher Nolan’s Insom­nia, M. Night Shya­malan’s Signs, and John Woo’s Windtalk­ers pre­miered. Enti­tled “In the Com­pa­ny of Neil LaBute: From Play­writ­ing to Film Direct­ing” the writer, scriptwriter and direc­tor Neil LaBute gave a cin­e­ma Masterclass.

Affiche de la 28e édition du Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville

The Jury

Pierre Les­cure (Pres­i­dent), Chan­tal Aker­man, Richard Ancon­i­na, Jean-Marc Barr, Charles Berling, Ami­ra Casar, Julie Gayet, Irène Jacob, Cédric Kahn, Bruno Wolkowitch


Grand Prize : LONG WAY HOME Peter Sollett
Jury’s Prize (ex-aequo) : Long Island Express­way — Michael Cues­ta & One Hour Pho­to — Mark Romanek
Crit­ics Award : THE SAFETY OF OBJECTS Rose Troche

Previous edition 2001 • 27th edition
Next edition 2003 • 29th edition