2005 • 31st edition

From 2nd to 11th Sep­tem­ber 2005.
On the fringes of the trib­utes paid to Ron Howard, James Toback, Robert Towne, and For­est Whitak­er, the Fes­ti­val this year pro­posed a spe­cial ses­sion of “Shorts by Greats” reveal­ing the first cin­e­mato­graph­ic steps tak­en by 5 renowned direc­tors: Ter­ry Gilliam, George Lucas, Rid­ley Scott, Tony Scott, and Robert Zemeck­is. There was also a “Box­ing in Cin­e­ma” ret­ro­spec­tive: ten fea­ture films in which “life is a match” and the world of box­ing, a “metaphor for life”. A Mas­ter­class on writ­ing and direct­ing was pre­sent­ed by Irwin Win­kler; the actor and direc­tor Steve Busce­mi met the audience.

Affiche de la 31e édition du Festival du Cinéma Américain de Deauville

The Jury

Alain Corneau (Prési­dent), Enki Bilal, Dominique Blanc, Romane Bohringer, Rachi­da Brakni, Christophe, Dominik Moll, Melvil Poupaud, Brigitte Roüan


Grand Prix : Crash — Paul Haggis
Prix du jury (ex-aequo) : KEANE Lodge Ker­ri­g­an & On the Outs — Lori Sil­ver­bush & Michael Skolnik
Crit­ics Prize : KEANE Lodge Kerrigan
Sce­nar­i­o’s Prize : TRANSAMERICA Dun­can Tucker

Previous edition 2004 • 30th edition
Next edition 2006 • 32nd edition